Schedules for styling reviews

Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori wrote
It would be a great help for the team to have more stylists to review the other models and to have more choice of different times and days for the reviews and to have less pressure on the team as they have a lot of work to do in terms of show preparations and designers.
Planned
5 votes
Vote
Reply
1 Promoted answer
Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori
Certain guidelines could be set and styling notes would also help the development of the reviews for the stylists so that they too would have more experience with future reviews.
15 Answers
Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
London Fallenwynter wrote
Yes, only issue that may rise is a lost in translation moment where if someone fails on a styling point they would quickly put the blame on the junior stylists and say " but they said it was fine?" We know how we can be about things gone awry. If stylists are willing to go through that , I am for it !
Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori
Certain guidelines could be set and styling notes would also help the development of the reviews for the stylists so that they too would have more experience with future reviews.
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Malachi Alexander Sinz wrote
Yes i totally agree, but it should be people that the team trust and should be something implemented over time giving the junior stylist time with the senior stylist to understand and see what they are looking for and help make proper changes that can be made like clock work.
Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Marcus Lefevre-Enimo agent wrote
Style- and pose checks are my biggest pain in show production, i'd really love to find ways to organize it better, painless and time efficient as possible for everyone involved. I will keep reading your ideas here and we will see what we can do best about it. ♥
Avatar image
Jun 14 (4 months ago)
Hikaru Enimo-Lefevre agent wrote
This is what mostly some of the models do not understand the need to work backend or frontend. First. the needed stylist needs to be really good in styling in order for them to actually be the stylist in this matter. 2nd, the guidelines are always just based on each styling idea that was written down during the needs of the time to check. But what some of them do not understand, some of the rules that were given, some poses that were approved MAY not be what was intended or suits with what was styled. FOR the junior stylist, MAY thought it will work but when it's time during the show, it MAY not work. And what happens next? bad case scenario, you may lose the CLIENT. By then it will be too late and NO one to blame except that the CLIENT or CLIENTS will put the blame on the one that organizes the show. But since we are a control freak that always wants perfect for the show, which I doubt most people can handle that, believe that styling checks have to be done on the timing that intended or scheduled as the sponsor can be there to see it. . That's my two cents.
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori wrote
Yes, agree Hika, it is a process that is complex for a person who does not know these guidelines and there are many things that are quite important for all that, it could also be at the discretion of the organization of potential stylists who can tackle that job if you could consider more hours or days for reviews of the styles would be very helpful because sometimes stay more time after rehearsals are complicated by the rl
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Hikaru Enimo-Lefevre agent wrote
Hello Yeriak, I think you misunderstood what I said. even you actually have Junior Stylist or new stylist, they have to be seen by the organizer of the show, which is the ones that sponsor or paid for the show. having them at different timing is not a good thing, the reason is the sponsor aka myself, i have to stay up to 3-4 am just to have your style check which I never complain about or said because there are things that some models do, adding unnecessary items that are not supposed to be in the show but USED it. or covering the skins with other things instead of showing the skins itself. Show and blogging are two different matters here. The show is to show the latest items and concentrate on them not adding more stuff to them. even in the RL fashion show, they do not add extra items to the styling. But Not all can detect that or knows about it. I got some models who come with extra items on their body to make it looks "full" but alas, it the purpose of the show is to show new items.

For style check, it is impossible to have it on different days, some items are given at the last min and they have to do it fast. During the signing of the show, they are given timing to come for a style check which is after rehearsal or before, and if you done it earlier, you just have to msg the one involved to have it check. That will be one timing to go, everything to be done on the same day. I did a style check for my Lhomme models on one day ONLY, which I will indicate the date and time for them to come for a style check. Why cant I hire or asked another stylist to do it, reason, I want specifically the styling for the magazine. Like for the show, I have to be there to make sure that OLD items and NEW items on the event are not being used on the same styling cause it confused the hell out of the customers who come to it .

If you noticed or seen the show or were involved in the show, I'm sure you know how it works. and knows that most of the styling are pare with each other. and also poses. I have done a style check for something like this, different stylists for different sections. I can do well on my part, but can others do? Even the guideline was given, i do believe that not all guidelines can follow or be followed. cus what you can see is a mess on the runaway. Like I say, just MY two cents. If it's a show that was sponsor by ME, I would prefer to have it done while I'm there rather than none. Cus i may not be liking what I will see. :D
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori wrote
Hello Hika, I understand your point and it is clear that only the organizers know what you need to see in a show and more, if they are managing that, is more than clear to me, I know perfectly well that it is not the same as a review show that a styling for a blog or for a shot of a magazine that I am totally conscious about it, I was referring to this is an example ok, that perhaps a Friday is the dress rehearsal and do the revision, for example, the next day and not do it all the same day of the rehearsal, because probably someone can not stay after the rehearsal more time until his turn for revision, that's what I meant, is just a suggestion, of course, I understand that they can give an item at the last moment and it is impossible that I know that can be specific cases not in all cases or all models. otherwise, I agree with what you say, otherwise, I understand perfectly the other points you have mentioned about sponsors.
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Marcus Lefevre-Enimo agent wrote
The actual problem is more the timeline than the style checks itself.
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Marcus Lefevre-Enimo agent wrote
The issue with that is, that the shows in question were to arrange in shortest time. It's not 1 designer and weeks or even months of preparation. It's been 30+ or even 50+ designers to prepare in ONE week. I'm happy for ideas to solve this, making everyone happy.
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori wrote
nods, yes Marcus, just to mention an idea that I'm sure you have already thought about,
Give an extension of more than a week (10 days, for example) for the preparation of the styling and that the items arrive at the models because I think it is all about the time itself, many designers are very tight with the deadlines but probably if you could extend the deadline prior to the delivery of the equipment could be a solution for the moment or designers who already have everything ready to deliver the items as soon as possible.
I know that it is complicated, I know it's not easy.
Avatar image
Jun 15 (4 months ago)
Yeriak Kiyori wrote
I was thinking that another idea, I'll put it anyway, maybe it's still too much work or it may not be possible.
For example, as there are a number of Sponsors in each event, they would be exposed more visually in the runway only to the Sponsors but the designers who want their items to appear, can be in a promotional video would be made with the different styles and if any of them could be offered the chance to show their items in the fashion show, limiting the space of designers who are not sponsors in the show.
Avatar image
Jun 16 (4 months ago)
Marcus Lefevre-Enimo agent wrote
We have a plan how we can create the timeline particularily for the styling- and pose checks less stressful. We will try it for the next show and will see how it works.
Jun 17 (4 months ago)
Tiy wrote
I hear what Hikaru is saying in terms of knowing both what the client wants as well as having the experience to know if a pose fits the outfit. I think we all see how much work it is to put on a show and how much stress the team is under and we just want to help where we can.
Avatar image
Jun 18 (4 months ago)
Hikaru Enimo-Lefevre agent wrote
The best part Tiy is to come to styling check with fewer changes, that would be helpful.....and don't mix and match too much with older items cause we cannot show the newest items for customers on stage. Remember this is a show, not a blogger runaway :D